BHS artists take state!

BROOKINGS – The Brookings High School Visual Arts Department won the 2017 Visual Arts State Championship during the AA Basketball Tournament in Rapid City.

Brookings had entries for all 12 art categories from 12 different students. Eight students placed in the top three individually, and all 12 students earned points to help with the first-place team total. They received the award at halftime of the championship game.

Their teachers are John Livingston, Shaun Haaseth and Dan Berg.

Shown are front row from left: Abby Mathiason, Tianna Hillestad, Haley Fevold, Amanda Kees and Hannah Theodosopoulos; back row from left: Instructor John Livingston, Ben Diersen, Holly Hopkins, Madeline Brandt, Bridget Knudtson, Tessie Braga-Henebry and Instructor Shaun Haaseth.

Not pictured are Brooke Piearson, Nadia Ridgway and instructor Dan Berg.

The students who participated and received individual awards are: Hannah Theodosopoulos, first-place drawing; Brooke Piearson, first-place watercolor; Tessie Braga-Henebry, second-place functional ceramics; Amanda Kees, second-place mixed media; Nadia Ridgway, second-place multimedia/graphic design; Ben Diersen, third-place crafts; Holly Hopkins, third-place oil painting; Tianna Hillestad, third-place 3-D; Bridget Knudtson, colored drawing; Madeline Brandt, printmaking; Abby Mathiason, traditional cultural art; and Haley Fevold, photography.


Video News
More In Homepage