Bison win 10th softball title in 11 years

FARGO, N.D. – Top-seeded North Dakota State beat second-seeded South Dakota twice Saturday at Tharaldson Park to win its 10th Summit League Softball Championship title in 11 years of eligibility, including sixth consecutively.

The Bison beat the Coyotes by the scores of 6-0 and 3-1.

USD beat NDSU 10-1 in five innings on Friday.

Bison freshman Paige Vargas was named Tournament MVP after posting a 3-0 record in the circle. She had a .33 ERA in 21 innings pitched.

The Coyotes dropped to 33-26.

North Dakota State (42-16) advanced to the NCAA Division I Softball Tournament. Regional play begins this week.

Game 1

 NDSU 6, USD 0

Vargas tossed a five-hit shutout, striking out one batter.

Cara Beatty, Madyson Camacho and Katie Shoultz each had two hits.

Camacho’s RBI triple highlighted the Bison’s three-run first inning.

Beatty drove in a pair with a double in the sixth and Sam Koehn hit a solo home run in the seventh.

Shoultz also tripled.

Alex Devers took the loss, surrendering five runs – four earned – on nine hits and six walks with a pair of strikeouts in 5 2/3 innings.

Game 2

 NDSU 3, USD 1

Vargas (17-4) pitched a six-hitter, allowing one run while striking out four batters and walking two.

The Bison took advantage of an error to push across a first-inning run.

Camacho, who finished 3-for-4, and Beatty had RBI singles in the third to push the margin to 3-0.

USD’s Lauren Eamiguel recorded an RBI single in the sixth.

Dustie Durham took the loss after giving up three runs – two earned – on four hits with two walks and a strikeout in 2 2/3 innings. She went 2-for-3 at the plate and scored the team’s lone run.

All-Tournament Team

South Dakota State senior catcher Mallory McQustian, sophomore pitcher Kendra Conard and senior right fielder Julia Andersen were honored.

North Dakota State – Paige Vargas (MVP), Madyson Camacho, Maddie Hansen, Katie Shoultz, Vanessa Anderson. South Dakota – Alexis Devers, Dustie Durham, Alyssa Fernandez, Jessica Rogers. South Dakota State – Mallory McQuistan, Kendra Conard, Julia Andersen. Purdue Fort Wayne – Abby Baez, Lauren Watson. North Dakota – Jailene Carpio. Western Illinois – Payton Abbott.


Video News
More In Sports