Celebrating BSD staff

BROOKINGS – The Brookings School District and the Brookings Education Association teamed up Wednesday night for their 2017-2018 Staff Recognition at Brookings High School. The event, which started with a social in the BHS Commons and continued with a program in V.A. Bell Auditorium, recognized staffers who work for the district in a variety of capacities.

Above, the district has 16 retirees this year. Pictured, back row from left, are Patty Jorgenson, Kathy DeKraai, Teresa Charlson, Sally Pies, Becky Lockwood, Heidi Steffensen, Julie Croymans, Vickie Newman and Sharon Bortnem. Front from left, Teresa Bortnem, Lori Maher, Kelly Riedell, Michelle VanderWal and Loreen Bunkers. Not pictured are Gayle Klinker and Ruth Sapp.

Teachers of the year were honored Wednesday as well. They are, below from left, Erika Drawdy, Camelot Intermediate and District Teacher of the Year; Emily Charlson, Dakota Prairie Elementary Teacher of the Year; Shellie Theodosopoulos, Medary Elementary Teacher of the Year; and Kathleen Beste, Hillcrest Elementary Teacher of the Year. Not pictured are Chris Mitchell, Mickelson Middle School Teacher of the Year; and Laura Plowman, Brookings High School Teacher of the Year.

Below, other honorees were Ana Bruno, Friends of Education Award, in recognition of outstanding contributions to public education; and Melita Hatfield, Brookings School District Classified Employee of the Year.


© 2020-Brookings Register

Video News
More In Homepage