Christion among MVFC’s top quarterbacks all-time

In 2019, The Missouri Valley Football Conference is recognizing some of its all-time greats in accordance with the league’s 35th anniversary and college football’s 150th anniversary.

Following a month-long on-line voting campaign, the conference is revealing its five best players at 10 different positions.

Quarterback (honorees are listed alphabetically):

Taryn Christion

South Dakota State, 2015-18

All-time MVFC record holder for career passing yards (11,535), touchdown completions (104) and total offense (13,055). He also ran for 26 TDs.

Christion broke the single-season league record with 35 scoring tosses in 2017. He had 32 in 2018 (fourth-most) and 30 in 2016 (tied for sixth-most)

He was the 2016 MVFC Offensive Player of the Year.

Christion went 33-11 as a starter and led the Jackrabbits to back-to-back appearances in the FCS Playoffs semifinals to close out his career.

Brock Jensen

North Dakota State, 2010-13

Totaled 48 career wins as a Bison and won three consecutive FCS titles. Closed his career with 24 wins in a row, including three against FBS schools.

Easton Stick

North Dakota State, 2015-18

The all-time winningest QB in FCS history with a 49-3 record as a four-year starter for the Bison. Holds the MVFC record with 2,523 rushing yards by a QB.

Kurt Warner

Northern Iowa, 1990-93

NFL Hall of Fame inductee and 1999 Super Bowl Champion with the St. Louis Rams. Four-time NFL Pro Bowl selection and league Offensive MVP in 1993.

Carson Wentz

North Dakota State, 2012-15

Highest drafted player in Valley football history, going No. 2 in the 2016 NFL Draft. Was part of five straight national championship teams with the Bison.


Running back – Nov. 4

Wide receiver – Nov. 6

Tight end – Nov. 8

Offensive line – Nov. 11

Defensive line – Nov. 13

Linebacker – Nov. 15

Defensive back – Nov. 18

Place kicker – Nov. 20

Punter – Nov. 22


Video News
More In Sports