Dalton Cox, Taryn Christion honored by FCS ADA

Photo from www.gojacks.com.

CLEVELAND – South Dakota State’s Dalton Cox and Taryn Christion were among the 47 student-athletes named Friday to the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s 21st Annual Academic All-Star Team.

A senior linebacker from Aberdeen, Cox earned a spot on the honor squad with a perfect 4.0 GPA as an entrepreneurial studies and economics major. A two-year starter, he also served as a team captain in 2018 and ranked second on the Jackrabbits with 68 tackles.

Christion, a senior quarterback from Sioux Falls, posted a 3.61 GPA while majoring in business economics. A Campbell Trophy finalist as the top scholar-athlete in all of college football, he rewrote the SDSU and Missouri Valley Football Conference record books during a standout career, including finishing as the all-time leader in passing yards (11,535), total offense (13,050 yards) and passing touchdowns (104).

Christion also was named one of seven finalists for an FCS ADA $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarship. Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the association’s annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the 2019 NACDA Convention in Orlando, Fla., June 10-12.

Of the 47 honorees, eight were from Patriot League members, followed by seven each from the Missouri Valley Football Conference and Colonial Athletic Association. Each nominee was required to have a minimum GPA of 3.20 in undergraduate study, must have reached at least their second year of athletics and academic standing, and have been a starter or key player. Institutions were limited to two nominees.

SDSU has had at least one student-athlete honored on the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team each of the last 13 seasons. Cory Koenig (2007), Ryan Berry (2008) and Zach Zenner (2014) were also honored as FCS ADA Postgraduate Scholarship recipients.



2006: Parker Douglas, Cory Koenig

2007: Parker Douglas, Cory Koenig

2008: Ryan Berry, Kevin Robling

2009: Conrad Kjerstad

2010: Tyler Duffy, Kyle Minett

2011: Brad Iverson

2012: Seth Daughters, Zach Zenner

2013: Brandon Hubert, Zach Zenner

2014: Jason Schneider, Zach Zenner

2015: Nick Mears

2016: Nick Mears, Jake Wieneke

2017: Jake Wieneke

2018: Taryn Christion, Dalton Cox


Video News
More In Sports