Daum a finalist for 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. –South Dakota State’s Mike Daum was among 20 NCAA men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes selected as finalists Wednesday for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate basketball.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced earlier in the season.

Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 25.

Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners.

The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2019 NCAA Men’s Final Four and NCAA Women’s Final Four.’

For more information on each of the finalists and to read Daum’s Senior CLASS Award Biography, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

Men’s Basketball Finalists

Clayton Custer, Loyola-Chicago; Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky; Mike Daum, South Dakota State; Josh Perkins, Gonzaga; Jon Elmore, Marshall; Reid Travis, Kentucky; Ethan Happ, Wisconsin; Dylan Windler, Belmont; Luke Maye, North Carolina; and Justin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra.

Women’s Basketball Finalists

Kristine Anigwe, Cal Berkeley; Megan Gustafson, Iowa; Allazia Blockton, Marquette; Jessica Kovatch, Saint Francis; Kalani Brown, Baylor; Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State; Bridget Carleton, Iowa State; Alanna Smith, Stanford; Asia Durr, Louisville; and Brianna Turner, Notre Dame.


Video News
More In Sports