Daum among 10 on Malone Award midseason list

Photo from www.gojacks.com.

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Jackrabbit senior Mike Daum as one of the top 10 candidates for the 2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Thursday. Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its fifth year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball.

A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just 10. Daum, who was among the preseason favorites, was one of five finalists for the 2018 Karl Malone Award and is a repeat selection to the midseason (top 10) watch list.

“The young men recognized as the top ten candidates for this, and other awards in the Naismith Starting 5, should feel extremely proud,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “While there’s still a lot of basketball left to be played, they have proven themselves thus far to be fierce competitors and fantastic teammates, much like Karl Malone himself.”

Daum has paced the Jackrabbit offense all season as one of two players nationally to average more than 20 points and 10 rebounds a game. A 51 percent shooter with 49 3-point field goals, Daum holds a double-double average of 24.9 points and 11.3 rebounds per contest.

He has climbed to No. 15 on the NCAA’s all-time scoring list with 2,854 career points and is on pace to join the illustrious 3,000-point club later this season. The Kimball, Neb., native has reached double figures in 23 games and has 15 double-doubles this season.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Karl Malone Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Karl Malone Award, log onto www.hoophallawards.com.


Video News
More In Sports