Five Bobcats win titles at West Sioux Invite

HAWARDEN, Iowa – Brookings had five wrestlers earn individual titles and the Bobcats also claimed the overall team title on Saturday at the West Sioux Invite in Hawarden, Iowa.

Brookings rolled up 213 team points to win the tournament. The host Falcons of West Sioux finished second at 205 points, followed by Central Lyon/George-Little Rock in third with 179 points.

Tate Helmbolt won the 106-pound title with a pair of wins. He opened with a 6-2 win, then earned the title with a pin of West Sioux’s Reid Persinger in 2:25.

At 120 pounds, Nolan Miles finished second. Miles picked up a quick win in his first match, winning by pinfall in 1:01, then dominated his semifinal match to the tune of a 21-4 technical fall win. In the finals, Miles was defeated by West Sioux’s Braden Graff by major decision, 9-1.

Brookings’ Luke DeRynck finished third at 126 pounds. DeRynck was pinned in his first match, then responded with a pair of consolation wins by fall and major decision to get into the third-place match. DeRynck closed with a pin of Cherokee, Washington’s Wyatt Johnson in 2:42.

At 132 pounds, Mason Mathis finished fifth in a round-robin format among five wrestlers.

Gabriel Stern finished third at 138 pounds. He opened with a win by fall, then dropped into the consolation bracket after being defeated 4-3. Stern rebounded with two wins by fall, the final over Ridge View’s Connor Jacobson in just 35 seconds.

Tyson Brandt finished second at 160 pounds. After receiving an opening-round bye, Brandt pinned his way into the finals where, against West Sioux’s Cullen Koedam, Brandt dropped a tight match, 2-1, to finish second.

At 170 pounds, Jaxon Bowes claimed the second individual title of the day for Brookings. Bowes earned pinfall wins in his first two matches, then in the championship picked up a 9-1 major decision over Central Lyon/George-Little Rock’s Graham Eben, 9-1.

The Bobcats’ 182-pounder Israel Caldron also took home first place honors. After an opening-round bye, Caldron moved into the finals with a pin, then defeated Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Bryce Kwiecinski, 11-4, for the title.

At 195 pounds, Caleb Loehr finished fourth. Loehr pinned his opponent in the quarterfinals, but then was pinned in the semifinals and dropped into the consolation bracket. Loehr rebounded with a 16-1 technical fall win but was defeated in the third-place match by Lewis Central’s Dillon Woods, 14-9.

Luke Rasmussen continued his dominance with a title at 220 pounds, winning both matches he wrestled by pin. After a first-round bye, Rasmussen moved into the finals with a pin in 4:51, then stuck Central Lyon/George-Little Rock’s Lyle Moore in 3:47 for the title.

James Olson claimed the fifth individual title for the Bobcats, winning the heavyweight division. He opened with a bye, then recorded three straight pinfalls, the final over Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Elliott Renville in 2:52.

Also at 285 pounds, Brookings’ Daniel Klug picked up two wins wrestling unattached to finish fourth. Klug won his first match by fall, then in the consolation semifinals won again by pin in 1:01. Central Lyon/George-Little Rock’s Kayden Van Berkum pinned Klug in one minute to finish third.

Brookings is right back at it tonight, traveling to Sioux Falls for a triangular with host Roosevelt, as well as Yankton. Matches get underway at 5 p.m.

The Bobcats return home on Jan. 18 to host Pierre.


More In Sports