High school tennis: Brookings Bobcats finish 13th at state tournament

Bobcats tennis player Carson Kreie returns a serve during the SDHSAA boys tennis tournament in Sioux Falls last weekend. Kreie teamed up with Braylon Peters to go 1-2 in doubles action. (South Dakota Public Broadcasting photo)

SIOUX FALLS — The Brookings Bobcats finished 13th at this year’s SDHSAA boys state tennis tournament, racking up a total of 18.5 points.

Sioux Falls Lincoln won this its ninth straight team title with 588.5 points while O’Gorman finished in second place with 409.5 points and Harrisburg finished third with 321.5 points.

Brookings wrapped up the tournament by competing in doubles action on Friday afternoon.

Braylon Peters and Carson Kreie went 1-2 in Flight 2 for the Bobcats. Peters and Kreie lost to Harrisburg’s Brayden Rausch and Lenny Hammargren in the first round but rebounded to defeat Noah McGrath and Triston Ducheneaux 8-3 in the consolation quarterfinals. Peters and Kreie saw their run come to an end when they lost 10-2 to Aberdeen Central’s team of Sekou Gogue and Jack Riggs.

Xavier St. Pierre and J.C. St. Pierre also went 1-2 for the Bobcats in Flight 3. Xavier St. Pierre and J.C. St. Pierre lost to Mitchell’s Matthew Mauszycki and Zach Fuhrer 10-3 in the opening round but defeated Rapid City Central’s Taiven Doherty and Peyton Taylor 8-1 in the consolation semifinals. Their run ended in the consolation semifinals when they lost to Tyler Dingsor and Sam Karst by a score of 10-1.

Ayden Asche and James Park went 0-2 for the Bobcats in Flight 1. They lost 10-0 to O’Gorman’s Alex Mohama and Cooper Johnson in the first round of the tournament and lost 8-1 to Sioux Falls Roosevelt’s team of Brock Kruger and Evan Rdogers in the consolation quarterfinals.

Sioux Falls Lincoln swept the doubles titles in Class AA with Rocky McKenzie and Drew Gohl winning the Class AA title in Flight 1, River McKenzie and Arthur Tao winning the title in Flight 2 and Christopher Tao and Jacob Husser winning the championship in Flight 3.

The Patriots also had success in the singles brackets as they took home five individual state titles. Rocky McKenzie won the Class AA singles title in Flight 1 while Gohl won the singles title in Flight 2. River McKenzie won in Flight 3 while Christopher Tao took home the title in Flight 5 and Husser won the championship in Flight 6.

O’Gorman’s Liam Sarmiento was the only competitor from another school to win a title, defeating Arthur Tao 6-1,6-0 to win the title in Flight 4.