Jackrabbits win six events on Day 2; Reichow doubles up

BROOKINGS – Joel Reichow won a pair of events and was named the men’s Track MVP but the South Dakota State men just missed winning the team title as the Summit League Indoor Track and Field Championships concluded Saturday at the Sanford-Jackrabbit Athletic Complex.

The North Dakota State men totaled 192 points to edge South Dakota State (189.5) for the team title.

South Dakota was third at 123.5.

The Bison led by half a point entering the final event of the competition – the 4x400-meter relay, where they placed second in 3:13.5 and the Jackrabbit team of Landon Larson, Adam Belhaj, Alejandro Sanchez and Dru Kenny finished third in 3:15.03.

The Bison also took the women’s team crown with 226 points, as the Coyotes (206.5) were second and the Jackrabbits (128) third.

The Jackrabbits won six events on Day 2, finishing the meet with 10 victories overall.

Reichow, a senior, led an SDSU sweep of the top three spots in an entertaining mile run with a time of 4 minutes, 16.63 seconds.

Kyle Burdick, who took the 3,000 title on Friday, was runner-up in the mile with a 4:16.9 clocking and Brendan Sage placed third in 4:17.35.

Reichow added a victory in the 5,000 meters later in the day, posting a time of 14:24.17.

Four other Jackrabbit runners scored points in the 5,000 as Burdick (14:45.76) took third, Trevor Capra (14:45.87) fourth, Chase Cayo (14:48.08) sixth and Lukas Nelson (14:57.28) seventh.

On Friday, Reichow took fourth in the 3,000 as five Jackrabbits finished in the top eight. He earned 25 points in the Championships.

Zach Koosman cleared 6 feet, 11 inches to claim the high jump title.

Alejandro Sanchez prevailed in the 800 meters with a time of 1:53.6.

South Dakota State’s Bryan Courter was named the men’s Field MVP and Newcomer of the Championship.

He placed third in the triple jump with a mark of 47-5 3/4 and ended up fifth in the high jump after clearing 6-7. Courter won the long jump on Day 1.

On the women’s side, Rachel King won her second event in as many days, taking first in the 5,000 in 16:54.68. She outraced the field in the 3,000 the day before.

Carly Carper, a senior from Rutland, claimed her second career 60-meter dash win with a time of 7.57 seconds. She also won the title in 2015 before redshirting in 2016.

Three school records went down on Saturday.

Jaymie O’Connor took second in the 60-meter hurdles in 8.61 seconds and Oksana Covey placed second in the 800 in 2:09.31. The 4x400-meter relay team of Savannah Dolezal, Kayla McDonald, Jacleen Patterson and Covey were also second in 3:44.56.

In the men’s high jump, JJ Hejna (6-9) was third and Riley Sears (6-5) tied for seventh.

Sam Zenner placed third in the 60 with a 6.85 clocking. Josh Dotson was fourth in the triple jump with a mark of 47-5.

Jake Lieberg finished fifth in both the triple jump (47-0 1/4) and 60-meter hurdles (8.49 seconds).

Reagan Francom was sixth in the heptathlon with 4,656 points and teammate Evan Hieber was eighth at 4,559. NDSU’s Ryan Emerson won with 5,103 points.

Also taking sixth were Ephram Albecht in the triple jump (46-10), Cal Lawton in the 800 (1:54.91) and Landon Larson in the 200 (21.83).

Adam Belhaj was seventh in the 400 (49.25) and Tom Bates matched that finish in the 60 hurdles (8.78). Caleb Cowling was eighth in the triple jump (45-4 1/2).

For the women, Monique Mack was runner-up in the high jump, clearing 5-5.

Dolezal, a junior from Estelline, took third in the 400 with a 56.25 clocking.

Carper was fourth in the 200 in 24.66. She took seventh in the long jump on Friday.

Emily Donnay (mile, 4:57.03) and Marissia Hagedorn (60 hurdles, 8.76) added fourth-place finishes.

Patterson was fifth in the 400 (56.69) and McDonald took sixth in the 200 (25.13). Cailyn Schreurs cleared 5-1 to tie for fifth in the high jump.

Finishing seventh were MiCayla Terwee in the shot put (45-11 3/4), Schreurs in the 60 hurdles (9.01) and Krista Steele in the 800 (2:16.21).

Miatta Flemister-Smith finished eighth in the 60 (8.00) and Silvia Zanini tied for eighth in the shot put (45-5).

Notes: SDSU’s Rod DeHaven and NDSU’s Don Larson were named Summit League Co-Coach of the Year on the men’s side. … SDSU won four events on Friday, the other coming in the distance medley relay (Cal Lawton, Dru Kenny, Josh Prohaska and Sanchez).


Video News
More In Sports