King, Burdick, Hilton lead SDSU at league meet

Photo from

MACOMB, Ill. – Rachel King, Kyle Burdick and Coby Hilton highlighted South Dakota State’s performance on the final day of the Summit League Outdoor Track & Field Championships on Friday at Hanson Field.

King won the 5,000 meters to conclude her standout Summit League career. She was named Most Outstanding Performer.

Burdick was the Track Championship MVP for the third consecutive season. He posted a pair of runner-up finishes Friday and earned 26 team points in the meet.

Hilton picked up a pair of individual victories and was a member of a winning relay team.

Oksana Covey and Cal Lawton swept the 800-meter crowns.

Joseph Minor-Williams also won, as the Jackrabbits posted seven victories on Day 3 to finish with nine overall. Minor-Williams was Newcomer of the Championship.

Jaymie O’Connor and Trent Francom broke school records.

The SDSU men finished second in the team standings and the women were fifth.

North Dakota State took both team titles. It marked the 12th  consecutive year for the women and the 10th for the men.

The NCAA Division I West Preliminaries are May 23-25 in Sacramento, Calif.


The senior from St. Michael, Minn., closed out her Summit League career in style, winning the 5,000 meters in 16 minutes, 40.98 seconds.

King, an All-American in 2018, successfully defended her 3,000-meter steeplechase title on Thursday.

She finished with nine career Summit League titles, including three outdoors, to go with a cross country crown. Indoors, King won the 3,000 three years in a row, the 5,000 twice and the mile once. She was the 2018 Indoor Track Championship MVP.


He placed second in both the 1,500 meters (3:50.45) – losing by .59 seconds – and the 5,000 (14:35.17) on Day 3. He was the two-time defending champ in the 1,500.

Burdick, who won the 10,000 for the second time in three years on Thursday, finished his career with 10 Summit League titles, including four outdoors.

The senior from Rapid City finished outside the top three just once in 21 career starts at the league meet, adding seven runner-up finishes and three third-place showings.

While earning Outdoor Track Championship MVP honors in 2017 and 2018, he earned 24 and 28 points, respectively.

Burdick was the Indoor Track Championship MVP earlier this season after placing first in the mile, 3,000 and 5,000. He also won the mile in 2017 and 2018, and the 3,000 in 2018.


Hilton, a sophomore from Marshall, Minn., won the 100-meter dash in 10.41 seconds as the Jackrabbits swept the top three spots in the event.

Hilton also won the 200 with a 21.04 clocking.

Junior Sam Zenner, the indoor champ in the 200 earlier this season after edging Hilton, was runner-up outdoors in 21.21. He also crossed second in the 100 (10.57).

Sophomore Daniel Clarke placed third in the 100 in 10.63.

Freshman Emmanual Phoulom-Smith, Hilton, Clarke and Zenner placed first in the 4x100-meter relay in 40.99 seconds.

Six Jackrabbits reached the 800-meter final, and Lawton prevailed on Friday. The senior from Eden Prairie, Minn., posted a time of 1:50.98.

Minor-Williams led five SDSU runners in the top eight in the 5,000 with a winning time of 14:34.98. He was runner-up in the 10K on Thursday.

Francom, a sophomore, added another half inch to his school pole vault record, clearing 17 feet 5 1/2 inches to place third. South Dakota’s Chris Nilsen (meet-record 19-0 3/4) was champion and was named Most Outstanding Performer.

Reid Pierzinski placed second in the 400-meter hurdles with a 53.41 clocking – .28 off the lead. He was fourth in the 110 hurdles (14.94).

In the 800, Riley Bauer (1:51.94) was third, Josh Goehring (1:54.33) fifth, Wyatt Gatrost (1:55.58) sixth, Derek Boekelheide (1:57.17) seventh and Blake Iverson (2:04.03) eighth.

In the 5,000, Micah Mather (14:40.67) took third, Lukas Nelson (14:54.73) sixth and Gabe Peters (15:00.43) eighth. Peters (3:56.67) added a seventh-place finish in the 1,500 and Michael Schwinghamer (3:58.59) was eighth.

Nick Wessels crossed in third in the 110 hurdles (14.6).

Caleb Bray, Mitchel Acker, Lawton and Pierzinski were third in the 4x400 in 3:13.85.

Jake Lieberg finished fourth in the triple jump (45-2 1/4) and fifth in the 400 hurdles (55.24).

Riley Sears cleared 6-7 to place fourth in the high jump. USD’s Zack Anderson won at a meet-record 7-4 1/4.

Noah Huber finished fifth in the discus (165-0) and Tre Manning was seventh in the triple jump (44-9 1/2).

The Bison won the team crown with 272 points and the Jackrabbits were second at 230. NDSU led 150-62 entering Day 3.

Notes: Hilton set the SDSU record in the 100 – 10.39 – during Thursday’s preliminaries. Clarke previously held the school record at 10.43, set last season. … The Coyotes’ Eldon Warner won the 1,500 in 3:49.04.

Team scores

North Dakota State 272, South Dakota State 230, South Dakota 155.5, Oral Roberts 85, North Dakota 43.5, Western Illinois 22.


Covey, the top seed in the 800 meters, held off a late push to win the event in 2:07.93. It marked the first Summit League title for the sophomore from Ankeny, Iowa.

O’Connor, a junior, shaved .04 off her own school record in the 100-meter hurdles, placing second in 13.7.

O’Connor, Emily Altenburg, Haley Mottinger and Emma Stewart were third in the 4x100 relay in 47.53. Allison Sebern, Krista Steele, Lauren Van Dyke and Covey matched that finish in the 4x400 with a 3:48.5 clocking.

Kasie Vollmer placed fourth in the discus with a heave of 156-2. Van Dyke was sixth in the 400 (57.47).

Steele, a senior from Monticello, Minn., closed with a seventh-place showing in the 800 in 2:17.3. She won the event both indoors and outdoors as a junior, before prevailing again indoors this season.

Also taking seventh were Anna Fasen in the 1,500 (4:41.12) and Anna Donnay in the 5,000 (16:53.95). Altenburg took eighth in the 100 (12.35).

Team scores

North Dakota State 255, South Dakota 189.5, North Dakota 105.5, Oral Roberts 103, South Dakota State 85.5, Western Illinois 33.5, Purdue Fort Wayne 25, Omaha 21.


Video News
More In Sports