North Dakota State sweeps MVFC specialty awards

ST. LOUIS – For the first time in Missouri Valley Football Conference history, a conference member went 12-0 in the regular season. And that team was rewarded by sweeping the league's top honors.

North Dakota State quarterback Trey Lance was named the league's Offensive Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Freshman of the Year

Teammate Derrek Tuszka was voted the league's Defensive Player of the Year.

Matt Entz was tabbed MVFC Coach of the Year. 

The Bison have won 33 consecutive games, matching their own FCS record. They also have an 18-game winning streak in league games, tying their own MVFC mark.

The previous winning streak came from 2012-14.

NDSU has won seven of the past eight FCS titles, including two consecutively. They are 32-2 all-time in the FCS Playoffs, adding a quarterfinal appearance in 2010 and a semifinal appearance in 2016.

The Bison have a 176-35 record in the Division I era. They are 132-13 since their first FCS postseason berth in 2010 and 123-8 since their first FCS title in 2011.

NDSU is 75-20 in MVFC play all-time with nine consecutive titles, including five outright crowns.

Lance, a Walter Payton Award and Jerry Rice Award nominee, is the first freshman to earn the MVFC’s top offensive honor and he’s the fourth freshman to win both the league’s Freshman and Newcomer of the Year honors.

Previous first-year players to sweep those two awards include Northern Iowa QB Sawyer Kollmorgen in 2012, Youngstown State RB Martin Ruiz in 2013 and North Dakota State LB Jabril Cox in 2017.

Notably, an MVFC school has earned Offensive, Defensive and Coach of the Year honors five times in the league’s 35-year history, including this year. UNI (1985, 1993 and 2007) and Western Illinois (2000) were the others to accomplish the feat.

The league has selected those three awards each of the past 35 seasons, but the Newcomer (1994) and Freshman (1999) honors were added later.


Video News
More In Sports