Rangers, Thunder roll in openers; Lakers win in 6 OTs

BROOKINGS – The top-seeded Rangers and second-seeded Thunder both posted 6-0 wins in Friday’s opening-round of the SDAHA Varsity Boys’ State Tournament, but it was sixth-seeded Sioux Falls East’s 4-2 upset of No. 3 seed Sioux Falls West that was the hot topic early.

That was until the marathon game between No. 4 seed Oahe and fifth-seeded Watertown took center stage – or should we say, took to both sheets of ice – before the Lakers finally prevailed 2-1 midway through the sixth overtime.

Those two teams had to transfer rinks after an exuberant fan hanging on the glass, combined with Bubba Spiering’s celebratory jump into the aforementioned pane of glass after scoring late in the second period, caused the glass to shatter, necessitating the switch to the Blue rink to finish the game, eventually.

The win advances the Lakers into today’s second semifinal game against Brookings at 7:30 p.m.

East and Rushmore tangle in the 5 p.m. semifinal while West and Aberdeen square off at noon in the consolation bracket.

Sioux Center and the Capitals face off at 2:30 p.m. in the other consolation semifinal.


• Rangers 6, Storm 0

Despite a 16-2 advantage in shots in the first period, Brookings didn’t light the lamp until there were only 14 seconds left – and the Rangers were short-handed when Jordan Vlaminck scored off an assist from Colton Kruse to take a one-goal lead into the intermission.

But Brookings put four pucks into the net in the second period, and then, tacked on an insurance goal early in the third to send the game into run time.

Kruse pushed the advantage to two goals just 78 seconds into the second before Brandin Heesch converted on a power-play opportunity as Mason Gerstner set up the goal near the 5-minute mark.

Two minutes later, Trevor Kuechenmeister’s power-play goal made it 4-0 with Kullan Daikawa and Matt Chapin picking up the assists.

With 4:25 to play in the second, Akren Prodoehl netted the puck off assists from Vlaminck and Kruse for a 5-0 advantage heading into the third.

Cody Niklason scored less than three minutes into the final frame as Chapin and Kuechenmeister provided the helpers for the final margin.

Brookings held a 40-8 edge in shots as Dylan Geraets stopped all eight shots he faced for the shutout win in goal.


• Brookings 6, Sioux Center 0

Sioux Center                            0 0 0 – 0

Brookings                                1 4 1 – 6

First Period

Scoring: 1. Brookings – Jordan Vlaminck (Colton Kruse), 0:14. Penalties: SC, Jonathan Vander Werf (Hooking), 3:37; B, Mason Gerstner (Slashing), 1:36.

Second Period

Scoring: 2. Brookings – Colton Kruse (Akren Prodoehl), 15:42. 3. Brookings – Brandin Heesch (Mason Gerstner), pp, 12:06. 4. Brookings – Trevor Kuechenmeister (Kullan Daikawa, Matt Chapin), pp, 10:03. 5. Brookings – Akren Prodoehl (Jordan Vlaminck, Colton Kruse), 4:25. Penalties: SC, Samuel DeJong (Hooking), 13:25; SC, Frederick Bullock (Tripping), 10:33; B, Cody Niklason (Unsportsmanlike Conduct), 0:00.

Third Period

Scoring: 6. Brookings – Cody Niklason (Matt Chapin, Trevor Kuechenmeister), 14:19. Penalties: B, Cody Niklason (Elbowing), 9:34; SC, Rylan Brue (Hooking), 8:46; SC, Joshua Beltman (High-Sticking), 5:56; SC, Frederick Bullock (Minor), 0:00.

Shots on Goal – SC: 2-5-1 – 8; B: 16-17-7 – 40. Power Plays – SC: 0-3; B 2-5. Saves: SC, Logan Terjal 34; B, Dylan Geraets 8.


• Lakers 2, Capitals 1 (6 OT)

Spiering’s goal with 3:37 to play in the second period broke the scoreless tie, before his glass-breaking jump sent the game to the other rink, as Parker Riddle and Ryan Falk set up the goal.

Three minutes and 20 seconds into the third period, Oahe’s Kade McTighe scored off an assist from Zach Fendrich to tie the game and the goal lamp wouldn’t be lit for nearly 78 minutes as the teams combined for 125 shots – 72 for the Lakers and 53 for the Capitals.

In the sixth overtime, Garrett Barse tallied an unassisted goal with 5:46 on the clock to end what is thought was the longest game in SDAHA history.

Despite the length of the game, Oahe was whistled for just three penalties while Watertown was called for only four.


• Watertown 2, Oahe 1 (6 OT)

Watertown                  0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 – 2

Oahe                0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 – 1

First Period

Scoring: None. Penalties: O, Jaden Griese (Hooking), 15:53.

Second Period

Scoring: 1. Watertown – Bubba Spiering (Parker Riddle, Ryan Falk), 3:37. Penalties: None.

Third Period

Scoring: 1. Oahe – Kade McTighe (Zach Fendrich), 13:40. Penalties: O, Zach Fendrich (Interference), 0:37.

OT 1

Scoring: None. Penalties: W, Drey Reihe (Checking from Behind), 4:17; W, Drey Reihe (Checking from Behind – Misconduct), 4:17.

OT 2

Scoring: None. Penalties: W, Sam Schroeder (Slashing), 9:37; O, Connor Gerber (Interference), 8:40.

OT 3

Scoring: None. Penalties: W, Jayden Wilkins (Slashing), 3:00.

OT 4

Scoring: None. Penalties: None.

OT 5

Scoring: None. Penalties: None.

OT 6

Scoring: 2. Watertown – Garret Barse (unassisted), 5:46. Penalties: None.

Shots on Goal – W: 11-16-16-7-5-9-6-1-1 – 72; O: 10-6-5-2-7-6-7-5-5 – 53. Power Plays – W 0-3; O 0-3. Saves: W, Robert Luken 52; O, Brody Hultman 70.


• Thunder 6, Cougars 0

Aberdeen played evenly with higher-seeded Rushmore for 19 minutes before a Thunder flurry – three goals in less than two minutes – changed the tone of the game.

Rushmore tacked on one more goal late in the second, and then, added two more with less than four minutes to play in the game as six different players scored.

Parker Sundby broke the tie just 2:20 into the second off an assist from Kasey Miller; Macintyre Braun pushed the lead to two goals with Damon Leier earning the assist; and Lucas Ferdinand’s unassisted tally with 13:01 to play made it 3-0.

Jacob Lindblom netted the puck with 2:16 on the clock to send the Thunder into the final period up 4-0 as Austin Stiles picked up the assist.

With less than four minutes left, Brian Petereit converted on a power-play opportunity as Gavin Gary and Tanner Good helped; and then, Seth Dikoff lit the lamp less than a minute later for the final score.


• Rushmore 6, Aberdeen 0

Aberdeen                                 0 0 0 – 0

Rushmore                                0 4 2 – 6

First Period

Scoring: None. Penalties: R, Kasey Miller (Hooking), 6:50.

Second Period

Scoring: 1. Rushmore – Parker Sundby (Kasey Miller), 14:40. 2. Rushmore – Macintyre Braun (Damon Leier), 13:42. 3. Rushmore – Lucas Ferdinand (unassisted), 13:01. 4. Rushmore – Jacob Lindblom (Austin Stiles), 2:16. Penalties: A, Matt Trenhaile


Video News
More In Sports