Ruesink to lead SDHSAA board of directors

PIERRE – At its August meeting, the South Dakota High School Activities Association Board of Directors will have a new leader: Moe Ruesink of Sioux Valley. 

Ruesink was elected at last Thursday’s meeting along with new vice chairman David Planteen of Langford. Ruesink takes over the chairmanship from Brian Maher of Sioux Falls. 

The board also approved the results of the election of new board members. The new West River at large member will be Winner Athletic Director Dan Aaker. He defeated Jordan Bauer of Rapid City on a vote of 100-40 from member schools. Aaker will replace Steve Morford of Spearfish.

The new large school board of education member will be Mark Murphy of Aberdeen. He defeated Randy Hartmann of Pierre on a vote of 91-45. Murphy will serve out the term of Paul Turman of Pierre who took a position in another state. 

Running unopposed was Bary Mann of Wakpala who will serve as the Native American at large board member. He takes the place of Silas Blaine of Crazy Horse. 

New members will join the board at its August meeting.

Member schools also approved a constitutional amendment regarding ejections from football games. The amendment, approved on a vote of 134-6, calls for the ejected player to sit out the equivalent of one game.


Video News
More In Homepage