Society for Range Management gives Fellow Award to SDSU's Alexander 'Sandy' Smart

Alexander "Sandy" Smart

BOISE, Idaho — Alexander “Sandy” Smart received the 2023 Society for Range Management Fellow Award at the Society’s 76th Annual Meeting in Boise, Idaho last month.

The title of fellow is conferred upon members of the Society for Range Management in recognition of exceptional service to the society and its programs in advancing the science and art of range-related resource management. This high honor is granted in the belief that special recognition should be given for exceptional and dedicated service to the Society.

According to an SRM release, “Smart personifies service to SRM in his activities over a 26-year membership, including service as section president (South Dakota Section), chair of the Program Accreditation Committee, chair of the nominating committee, and two three-year terms as an associate editor for Rangeland Ecology and Management. Smart can be counted on to do an exemplary job no matter the situation and do it with a smile and endless energy and enthusiasm.”

He has been dedicated to educating the next generation of rangeland professionals during his tenure at South Dakota State University and was recognized by SRM for an Early Career Undergraduate Teaching Award.

From courses ranging from Introduction to Range Management, Wildland Ecosystems, Rangeland Improvements, Grassland Fire Ecology, and Grazing Ecology, Smart has encouraged and challenged students to think and work through contemporary problems with a practical focus involving interdisciplinary knowledge.

His legacy of encouraging students also extends to mentoring of youth through FFA and 4-H, and in 2021 Dr. Smart volunteered take on the Chair of the Undergraduate Range Management Exam for SRM in 2021 and is now imparting the lessons learned to students around the world.

For his contributions to the science and management of rangeland ecosystems he has made, it is with great honor the Society of Range Management recognized Smart with the 2023 SRM Fellow Award.