Wieneke among MVFC’s top wide receivers all-time

In 2019, The Missouri Valley Football Conference is recognizing some of its all-time greats in accordance with the league’s 35th anniversary and college football’s 150th anniversary.

Following a month-long on-line voting campaign, the conference is revealing its five best players at 10 different positions.

Wide receivers (honorees are listed alphabetically):

Lance Lenoir Jr.

Western Illinois, 2013-16

Ranks third on the MVFC list with 3,796 career receiving yards and is second with 273 receptions. Was a two-time first-team All-MVFC selection at wide receiver.

Laurent Robinson

Illinois State, 2003-06

Had 3,007 receiving yards for the Redbirds and 29 TD receptions. One of only three MVFC receivers to earn league Offensive Player of the Year honors, doing so in 2005.

Darrius Shepherd

North Dakota State, 2015-18

Had 2,841 receiving yards and 188 receptions – both rank second all-time at NDSU. Most Outstanding Player of the 2019 FCS title game win over Eastern Washington.

Dedric Ward

Northern Iowa, 1993-96

Two-time MVFC Offensive Player of the Year. Ranks second in MVFC history with 3,876 receiving yards on just 176 catches (22 average). Second all-time in MVFC history with 41 career TD receptions.

Jake Wieneke

South Dakota State, 2014-17

Holds MVFC career records with 288 receptions, 5,157 receiving yards and 59 receiving TDs. One of just two players in league history (DB Ty Talton of UNI is the other) to earn first-team all-league honors four times.


Video News
More In Sports