Youths showcase their skills in 4-H shooting sports

Courtesy photo: The Brookings County representatives shown preparing to leave for the national championships in Grand Island, Nebraska are, from left: Erick Schulte, Brookings; Dylan Singrey, Arlington; Brooke Wika, Brookings; Dane Wika, Brookings and Brayton Mack, Brookings.

BROOKINGS – This year 121 youth participated in the 2018-19 Brookings County 4-H Shooting Sports program. 

Many of these youth went on to compete in the State 4-H Shoot held April 27-29 in Fort Pierre.  

The Shooting Sports program recognized all of their participants and those who earned ribbons or awards on May 20. This event presented awards to beginners, juniors, seniors and shooting teams who excelled in bb gun, .22 pistol, .22 rifle, air pistol, air rifle, and archery throughout the January-April season. Awards were based on performance and participation in Match 1, Match 2, State Shoot, and the Shooting Sports program over-all. 

Shooters at state are then separated by age groups and equipment in one of the largest youth shooting events in the nation. Youth who excel at the state shoot are chosen to compete in a National Shooting Championship event. This year four Brookings County youth and coach Erick Schulte represented Brookings County on South Dakota teams at the 2019 4-H Shooting Sports National Championships, held June 23 - June 28 in Grand Island, Nebraska.

The youth representatives were:

 Brayton Mack, Brookings –.22 Rifle

• Brooke Wika, Brookings –.22 Rifle

• Dane Wika, Brookings –.22 Rifle

• Dylan Singrey, Brookings – Hunting Skills

The Hunting Skills team received third overall and Dylan Singrey, placed 6th individually at the National Shoot.

Members Awarded a Top 5 Placing at the State Shoot:

1st Place - Senior Archery (3-D CWSR), Zane DeRynck, Bruce

1st Place - Junior Air Pistol (Slow), Dylan Vande Kop, Brookings

2nd Place – Junior Air Pistol (Fast), Trevor Shultz; Bruce

3rd Place – Senior .22 (3-P), Brooke Wika; Brookings

4th Place – Senior .22 (3-P), Natalie Jacobson, Volga

5th Place – Senior .22 (3-P), Zane DeRynck, Bruce

3rd Place – Senior CMP, Kaitlin Ruden, Bruce

Teams Awarded a Top 5 Placing at the State Shoot:

5th Place – Junior Team Archery CWOS; Kamryn Streich, Brookings; Shane Nupen, Brookings; Trevor Shultz, Bruce

3rd Place – Beginner Team Archery Compound Open; Kennedy Behrend, Brookings; Caden Singrey, Brookings; Kendallyn Schmit, Elkton; Kaylee Schmit, Elkton

3rd Place – Junior Team Air Pistol; Ella Jacobson, Volga; Chasen Heller, Brookings; Samson Storhaug, Brookings; Rowan Abdel-Kareem, Brookings

4th Place – Junior Team Air Pistol; Dylan Vande Kop, Brookings; Trevor Shultz, Bruce; Luka Kennedy, Brookings; Alexander Storhaug, Brookings

3rd Place – Senior Team Air Pistol; Dylan Herrig, Brookings; Dylan Singrey, Arlington; Lane Thompson, Elkton; Paityn Schulte, Brookings

2nd Place – Senior Team Air Rifle; Madeline Jacobson, Volga; Natalie Jacobson, Volga; Shannon Rebelein, Brookings; Merick Olson, Volga 

1st Place – Senior Team .22 (3-P); Brooke Wika, Brookings; Dylan Singrey, Arlington; Natalie Jacobson, Volga; Madeline Jacobson, Volga

2nd Place – Senior Team .22 (3-P); Dane Wika, Brookings; Kaitlin Ruden, Bruce; Zane DeRynck, Bruce; Elizabeth Shultz, Bruce

4th Place – Senior Team .22 (3-P); Brayton Mack, Brookings; Raven Olson, Volga; Curt Spilde, Deuel County; Brittany Greene, Deuel County

1st Place – Senior Team CMP; Kaitlin Ruden, Bruce; Madeline Jacobson, Volga; Natalie Jacobson, Volga; Elizabeth Shultz, Bruce

 Recognition was given to graduating seniors including Brooke Wika, Riley Nupen, and Jack Pillatzke.

Retiring volunteers were also recognized for all their dedication; retiring coaches were Mike Petersen of White, Ann Poss of Brookings, and Chase Meyer of Bushnell.


Video News
More In Local