College wrestling: Cade DeVos wins 174-pound title at Cliff Keen Invitational


LAS VEGAS — Cade DeVos won the 174-pound title and Tanner Sloan captured third place at 197 pounds to lead the South Dakota State wrestling team Saturday on the final day of the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational hosted by the Westgate Paradise Event Center.

DeVos, a senior from Altoona, Iowa, posted two victories Saturday to finish the two-day tournament with a 5-0 record. In semifinal action, the third-seeded DeVos trailed early against second-seeded Carson Kharchla of Ohio State before rallying late for an 11-8 decision.

In the finals, DeVos matched up against Oregon State’s Travis Wittlake and held the lead from start to finish. He opened the scoring with a takedown and overcame a Wittlake reversal to take a 4-2 lead into the second period. DeVos extended his lead to 7-3 with a second-period takedown and held off Wittlake down the stretch for a 9-7 victory.

With his victory, DeVos became the second Jackrabbit in three seasons to win an individual title at the prestigious event, joining 141-pounder Clay Carlson in 2021.

Sloan entered Saturday as the top seed in the 197-pound division, but was sidetracked in the semifinals by fifth-seeded Jaxon Smith of Maryland, 8-2, for his first loss of the season. Sloan came back with two decisive victories to claim third place for the second year in a row, scoring a 12-1 major decision against Nebraska’s Silas Allred before notching a 7-2 decision over Cornell’s Jacob Cardenas in the third-place bout.

Also wrestling in the semifinals Saturday morning was Jackrabbit 133-pounder Derrick Cardinal. The sophomore from Forest Lake, Minnesota, battled top-seeded Kai Orine of North Carolina State down to the wire, but dropped a 6-3 decision. Cardinal later lost by fall (3:39) to Nic Bouzakis of Ohio State before withdrawing from the tournament and settling for sixth place.

SDSU’s fourth wrestler to compete Saturday was 125-pounder Tanner Jordan, who placed eighth in his weight class. Jordan dropped both of his matches on the day, losing a 12-4 major decision to Brandon Kaylor of Oregon State before a 7-3 setback at the hands of top-seeded Matt Ramos of Purdue.

Despite entering only nine wrestlers in the tournament, the Jackrabbits finished 10th out of 35 teams with 74 points. Iowa State earned the team title with 130.5 points to dethrone three-time defending champion Nebraska with 125.5. Ohio State was third with 123.5 points.

Up next

The Jackrabbits will be away from competition for two weeks before returning to dual action Dec. 16 at Nebraska.

Individual results

125: #7 Tanner Jordan, Sr., St. Paris, Ohio (3-3)

def. Richard Sandoval, Cal State Bakersfield, by major dec., 17-5

def. #10 Troy Sprately, Oklahoma State, by dec., 9-8

lost to #2 Michael DeAugustino, Michigan, by dec., 6-3

def. #12 Brendan McCrone, Ohio State, 11-7

lost to #6 Brandon Kaylor, Oregon State, by major dec., 12-4

lost to #1 Matt Ramos, Purdue, by dec., 7-3

Eighth Place

133: Derrick Cardinal, So., Forest Lake, Minnesota (3-2)

def. Dylan Acevedo, Hofstra, by fall 1:55

def. #5 Brendan Ferretti, Navy, by dec., 7-2

vs. #6 Domenic Zaccone, Campbell, by major dec., 14-3

lost to #1 Kai Orine, North Carolina State, by dec., 6-3

lost to #7 Nic Bouzakis, Ohio State, by fall 3:39

Sixth Place

141: Caleb Gross, Sr., Pound, Wisconsin (2-2)

lost to #4 Ryan Jack, North Carolina State, by dec., 4-1

def. Aidan Waszak, Ohio, by dec., 4-1

def. Jaden Pepe, Harvard, by dec., 2-1

vs. #12 Jason Miranda, Stanford, by major dec., 8-0

Gross Eliminated

149: Alek Martin, So., St. Paris, Ohio (3-2)

def. Bryce Shelton, Air Force, by major dec., 13-2

lost to #3 Caleb Henson, Virginia Tech, by major dec., 11-2

def. Michael Zarif, Binghamton, by dec., 5-0

def. Noah Tapia, Hofstra, by dec., 7-0

lost to #5 Jackson Arrington, North Carolina State, by major dec., 11-0

Martin Eliminated

157: #8 Cael Swensen, So., Plymouth, Minnesota (2-2)

def. Rhise Royster, Long Island, by dec., 9-4

def. #9 Joey Blaze, Purdue, by dec., 4-1 [SV-1]

lost to #1 Peyton Robb, Nebraska, by major dec., 10-0

lost to #3 Bryce Andonian, Virginia Tech, by dec., 7-3

Swensen Eliminated

165: Connor Gaynor, So., Mokena, Illinois (0-2)

lost to #6 Antrell Taylor, Nebraska, by dec., 8-5

lost to Chance McLane, Arizona State, by medical forfeit (2:05)

Gaynor Eliminated

174: #3 Cade DeVos, Sr., Altoona, Iowa (5-0)

def. Ryder Dearborn, Cal State Bakersfield, by tech. fall, 17-1

def. Lucas Uliano, Appalachian State, by major dec., 9-0

def. #6 M.J. Gaitan, Iowa State, by major dec., 10-2

def. #2 Carson Kharchla, Ohio State, by dec., 11-8

def. #4 Travis Wittlake, Oregon State, by dec., 9-7


197: #1 Tanner Sloan, Sr., Alburnett, Iowa (5-1)

def. Sonny Sasso, Virginia Tech, by tech. fall, 17-1

def. Jack Wehmeyer, Columbia, by major dec., 12-0

def. #9 Max Shaw, North Carolina, by dec., 2-0

lost to #5 Jaxon Smith, Maryland, by dec., 8-2

def. #6 Silas Allred, Nebraska, by major dec., 12-1

def. Jacob Cardenas, Cornell, by dec., 7-2

Third Place

285: Luke Rasmussen, R-Fr., Brookings, South Dakota (3-2)

lost to Jose Valdez, Northern Iowa, by major dec., 13-4

def. Jake Andrews, Cal State Bakersfield, by fall 2:43

def. Sam Alsheimer, Morgan State, by major dec., 13-0

def. Jack Jessen, Northwestern, by major dec., 13-3

lost to #10 Lewis Fernandes, Cornell, by tech. fall, 17-0