City names ‘Your Shot to Win’ winners

City of Brookings image

BROOKINGS – The City of Brookings has released the names of the individuals selected as winners for the “Your Shot to Win” COVID-19 vaccine incentive program.

On Sept. 14, the City of Brookings launched the “Your Shot to Win” initiative, incentivizing members of the Brookings community as well as South Dakota State University students to get the COVID-19 vaccine. Previously vaccinated residents and students were also eligible to enter. The contest was hosted online at

In total, the initiative attracted more than 4,300 entries. Winners were randomly selected from among all eligible entries.

The 10 $5,000 cash prize winners include:
• Cheryl Berkland
• Erica Sanderson
• Kyle Jaggi
• Jesse Crosby
• Heidi Fields
• Barbara Horten
• Erika Klein
• Rose Konehne
• Ayden Hyde
• Ross Abraham
The 10 $1,000 SDSU scholarship winners include:
• Max Baloun
• Melissa Hagedorn
• Kayley Myers
• Jesse O’Neill
• Diane Kayije
• Rebekah Odland
• Raygen Randall
• Lauren Olson
• Buddhi Lamsal
• Allison Beranek

“The City of Brookings and community partners would like to congratulate all the winners as well as thank the Brookings community and SDSU students for participating in the contest,” the city press release says.

For more information about COVID-19 resources, visit


More In Local