Elementary excellence

BROOKINGS – Lynette McMacken, an MCL teacher at Medary Elementary School, has been recognized with this year’s Patricia M. Larson Award for Excellence in Elementary Education.

McMacken was recognized May 15, as the Brookings School District and the Brookings Education Association honored district teachers, staff and supporters at their 2018-2019 Teacher and Staff Recognition event at Brookings High School.

The Patricia M. Larson award seeks to select the best representative of the many outstanding teachers in K-5 education. It honors an individual as a teacher/mentor having great impact on children.

The Patricia M. Larson Fund provides an annual award of $2,000 to a Brookings elementary teacher and a $2,000 award to the school where the award winner is employed. This award is intended as a sign of appreciation and encouragement for ongoing teaching and learning. The use of funds is unrestricted.

The award is an ongoing tribute in memory of Larson, who dedicated her life to children’s education through her activities as a parent, educator, volunteer and philanthropist.

The May 15 recognition ceremony was preceded by a social in the BHS Commons, featuring entertainment from BHS musicians and food from ProStart students and sponsor First Bank & Trust.


Video News
More In Homepage