South Dakota medical association elects board, issues awards

South Dakota State Medical Association
Posted 6/17/24

SIOUX FALLS — Jennifer J. Tinguely, MD, MPH, of Sioux Falls became the 143rd president of the South Dakota State Medical Association during the organization’s annual meeting recently in …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

South Dakota medical association elects board, issues awards


SIOUX FALLS — Jennifer J. Tinguely, MD, MPH, of Sioux Falls became the 143rd president of the South Dakota State Medical Association during the organization’s annual meeting recently in Rapid City. Outgoing president Denise S. Hanisch, MD presented the presidential medallion to Dr. Tinguely at the association’s annual awards and scholarship recognition banquet at the Holiday Inn Downtown.

Tinguely has been an active member of the SDSMA since 2007. She is a family medicine physician and chief medical officer of Falls Community Health in Sioux Falls. She has been involved in leadership in healthcare for many years. She has held positions on the SDSMA Board of Directors, SDSMA Policy Council, committees, her local District 7 Medical Society, and is a member of the American Medical Association. She is also a graduate of the SDSMA’s Health Leadership Institute.

The board of directors members for 2024-25 are:

  • President — Jennifer J. Tinguely, MD, MPH — Sioux Falls
  • President-elect — Keith A. Hansen, MD — Sioux Falls
  • Vice President — Benjamin D. Meyerink, MD — Sioux Falls
  • Secretary-treasurer — Lisa B. Brown, MD — Custer
  • At-large director — Deepak M. Goyal, MD, MBA — Rapid City
  • At-large director — Laura J. Hoefert, MD — Madison
  • At-large director — Megan M. Smith, MD — Burke
  • Policy council chair — Mandi Greenway Bietz, MD — Mitchell
  • Immediate past president — Denise S. Hanisch, MD — Centerville
  • AMA delegate — Mary S. Carpenter, MD — Winner
  • AMA alternate delegate — Robert L. Allison, MD – Fort Pierre
  • AMA alternate delegate (presidential appointment) — Robert J. Summerer, DO – Madison

SDSMA award recipients

The SDSMA presented awards to recipients at the Annual Awards & Scholarship Recognition dinner.

  • The SDSMA’s Distinguished Service Award recognizes a physician or lay person who has been of outstanding service to the medical profession in South Dakota. This year the Distinguished Service Award recipient is Dean Krogman of Brookings, the SDSMA’s chief lobbyist. The 2024 legislative session was Krogman’s 40th in Pierre.
  • The Outstanding Young Physician Award was presented to Ashlea Semmens, MD of Rapid City. This award is given to a young physician under 40 or within the first eight years of professional practice after residency and fellowship training. This physician is recognized for outstanding achievements, dedication and service to the community and the SDSMA at the local, state, or national levels.
  • The SDSMA’s Community Service Award is presented each year to a physician who separates himself or herself through outstanding work in the area of community affairs. This year the award was given to the Prairie Docs — Brookings physicians Andrew Ellsworth, MD; Kelly Evans-Hullinger, MD; Debra Johnston, MD; and Jill Kruse, DO. Joanie Holm, RN accepted the award on the Prairie Docs’ behalf.
  • Bart Pfankuch, content director of South Dakota News Watch, is the recipient of the SDSMA’s Richard P. Holm, MD Media Award. The media award recognizes those who have helped promote the medical field and medical issues in the media.
  • The Young at Heart Award is presented to a physician who has inspired young physicians as a mentor, role model and leader. This year’s recipient is Dan J. Heinemann, MD of Sioux Falls.
  • Lucio N. Margallo II, MD of Mitchell is the recipient of the SDSMA’s Past President’s Award. This award is presented each year to the immediate past president of the SDSMA in recognition of their many years of work and dedication to the SDSMA.
  • Susan M. Anderson, MD, is the recipient of the Special Presidential Award. This award is chosen by the SDSMA president to recognize the recipient’s contributions to the medical profession. The award was given posthumously and was accepted by Matt Anderson.
  • The Friend of Medicine Award recipient is Sen. Tim Reed of Brookings, who represents District 7 in the South Dakota Senate. This award is given in recognition of contributions serving as an effective advocate for health care and the medical profession.
  • The COPIC Humanitarian Award honors a physician for volunteer medical services and contributions to their community. Shannon D. Emry, MD of Sioux Falls, founder of Midwest Street Medicine, is the recipient of this year’s award. The award recognizes individuals who unassumingly volunteer outside the spectrum of their day-to-day lives. The recipient of the award designates a $10,000 donation from COPIC to be provided to a health care-related 501(c)(3) organization in South Dakota. Midwest Street Medicine is the donation recipient.
  • Eleven physicians were recognized with the SDSMA’s 50-Year Award for medical practice in South Dakota. Physicians who received this award were: Kenneth P. Aspaas, MD of Sioux Falls; Gail M. Benson, MD of Sioux Falls; Alfred E. Hartmann, MD of Sioux Falls; Robert C. Hohm, MD of Huron; Thomas C. Johnson, MD of Yankton; Si Gaph Lee, MD of Aliso Viejo, California; Patrick M. McGuigan, MD of Rapid City; Peter K. Rodman, MD of Sioux Falls; Gonzalo M. Sanchez, MD of Tucson, Ariz; Ronold R. Tesch, MD of Brookings; and Daryl R. Wierda, MD of Sioux Falls. These physicians have been practicing medicine for a half-century and have contributed greatly to the medical profession.