Selland earns All-American honorable mention

Jason Salzman/ South Dakota State’s Myah Selland goes up for a shot during a 64-45 win over South Dakota on Feb. 5 at Frost Arena in Brookings.

ATLANTA, Ga. – South Dakota State’s Myah Selland has earned 2021 Women’s Basketball Coaches’ Association NCAA Division I Coaches All-America Honorable Mention, the association announced Saturday.

“This is a fantastic honor and it is well deserved recognition for Myah and our Jackrabbit program,” said head coach Aaron Johnston. “Her combination of exceptional talent and extraordinary leadership certainly place her in this elite category.”

Selland is the first Jackrabbit to receive WBCA All-America Honorable Mention honors. Jennifer Warkenthien was an AP All-America Honorable Mention selection in 2009.

Selland has been named Summit League Player of the Year, an All-Summit League First Team selection and a finalist for the Becky Hammon Mid-Major Player of the Year this season.

The Letcher native led the Jackrabbits and the Summit League with 19.2 points per game, including 19.5 points per game in Summit League play. She scored 15-plus points in 19 games this season, including 20-plus points on six occasions, and registered five double-doubles. 

She shot 51.5 percent from the field and 32.8 percent from beyond the arc. The redshirt junior added 6.8 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 1.3 steals per game. Selland reached 1,000 career points on Jan. 15 at Omaha and now ranks 31st on SDSU’s all-time scoring list with 1,160 points.

She was named Summit League Player of the Week six time this season which is a program record for the Jackrabbits and ties for second all-time in Summit League women’s basketball for weekly honors in a single season. Additionally, she was named Summit League Female Athlete of the Month for both December and January.

The WBCA announced the Wade Trophy winner, NaLyssa Smith of Baylor, which is presented annually to the WBCA’s NCAA Division I Player of the Year. Additionally, the Coaches’ All-America team was announced, which is composed of the 10 best players in Division I regardless of position as chosen by the division’s head coaches. This is the first team since 2011 on which no institution placed more than one player.


Video News
More In Sports